Image

This is a rather bad camera phone shot of my dinner tonight.  I am home alone by myself.  Yes, thats is a medium pizza with pepperoni, ham and banana peppers.  Sitting next to it is a cheesy bread with Marinara sauce.  Keeping watch is my very own 2 Liter bottle of coke, which included a hefty dose of rum.  That was the kind of meal that would make my heart go pitter pat (followed by heartburn and possible chest pains) several years ago.  Its also the kind of meal that countless millions of Americans wolfed down tonight.  I still wanted the taste, but I know its awful for me.  So why eat something you don’t really want?

I ate it because I did want it.  At least I thought I did.  I picked the meal I was single most likely to crave, and ate so much of it I knew I would be sick.  Why the hell would I do that?  Why would I sentence myself to a night of heartburn and complete sedentary existence?

Simple.  It was to remind myself how incredibly bad eating normal food makes me feel.  When was the last time your food made you FEEL good beyond your taste buds?

Tomorrow I am embarking on a journey.  Making myself miserable now should give me the strength to get through the first few days.  I also figure writing about it will help purge my demons and give myself some accountability.  Since whether I admit it or not, if I magically quit writing, everyone will assume I just gave up.  I don’t want that to happen.  God led me here, and its time I lived up to his teachings.

So what am I doing?  I am switching to something called “paleo eating”.  I think that name is crap.  I am calling it the primal diet, although I had nothing to do with it short of calling it a better name.  It is essentially switching back to what our primal ancestors ate.  Lots of animal fats and proteins.  Tons of green leafy vegetables.  A small serving or two of fruit each day.  Sprinkling of nuts and seeds throughout.  Natural dairy products.  Along with that, you eliminate all row crops, which are corn, wheat and soy.  No processed foods of any kind.  No starches, thus no rice or potatoes.  For more info read Robb Wolf or Lierre Keith.

Why do this?  For me it was simple.  God wanted me to.  I was given a story as a child, and it always made me think, but it was only recently I had a place to hang it in my mind.  As a child I heard the story of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego.  They were given as slaves to Nebuchadnezzar.  The king wanted them healthy, and they were given the rich food of the king to eat. God had forbidden them to eat the rich food, lest it make them sick.  They asked for simple food from the guards, and God blessed them with health beyond that of those that ate the kings dainties.

There is a modern parallel.  Those of us that eat nothing but pizza and burgers tend to laugh at people that eat simply.  Often as those simple people are lowering us into the ground.

Even if you are a non-believer.  From a historical perspective, agriculture as we know it has only been in existence for the past few hundred years.  Before that we ate what we could hunt (meat) and gather (veggies and fruit).  Thats what we are adapted to eat. Nothing natural will hurt us.  We must only remember what we have forgotten, and we shall be rewarded.

Thus I embark on a new Journey.  On day Zero I begin fat and out of shape.  I will walk where God calls, and see the truth set me free.

Day Zero:

243 Pounds

Allergies

Depression

Indigestion (wonder why?)

