We were put here to do more than sit in a cubicle.  More than selling stereos to rude, self serving old people who spent their entire lives slaving in a system that left them soulless.  We were supposed to overcome more in our lives than just how to beat the jungle boss after the zombie wave on our Xbox.  God said, “Go forth and be fruitful”.  I doubt very much he had a couch and some Cheetos in mind with that one.  We have removed the challenges of survival from our lives, and all that’s left is a hollow temple to excess.  I am pretty content to be a fat guy, but thats not how we were meant to live. I think a lot of us are starting to realize that, and we are in the midst of a hollowing out of our society.

I am just as guilty.  All my life, my wife and I climbed up that ladder towards material success.  We have climbed a mountain of debt, and are almost at the summit.  Yet when we looked towards the future, what did we see?  An endless life time of easy, empty, meaningless adequacy.  We had reached the point where all we have to do is keep our heads down, don’t rock the boat, and we can glide through our lives, blissfully assured of the outcome.  The very thought of it was enough to drive me crazy.

Am I the only one?  How many people are happy to get up and go to work each day?  Those of you that are happy, how many of you truly feel fulfilled in your job.  Do you get to go home, look in the mirror, and say “I made a positive difference today”?  There is no greater cruelty to a mans soul than to know that the moment he stops breathing, the world will swallow up the sum of his life.  Is it any wonder then that so many of us are depressed?  We have created a system that doesn’t need us to function anymore.  We are gears in a machine, unimportant except to God and the surrounding gears.

So what am I going to do?  I am going to refuse to be a cog.  I will do my best to no longer function within the system around me.  I will seek to understand the path that God has laid out for me.  I will learn to grow my own food.  I will raise my own animals.  I will learn to build things again with my hands.  I will build a community with those around me, so that we all can grow and thrive together.  I will stand strong for what is right.  I will no longer separate myself from what makes us truly happy.  Most importantly.  I will follow the truth, no matter where it lies.

 

