I am no longer a political junkie.  Nor will I ever be a political blogger, so before you click screaming from this post.  Hear me out.  This isn’t about which clown will take the oath he intends to break before he steps down off the platform.  This is about why things are going to have to change, and why that change has made my life better.  I bet if you look for these examples in your own life, you will find them too.

We are, at least in America, hip deep in the latest election cycle.  By the way, that cycle apparently starts immediately after the inauguration, since people have been lining up to run since 2008.  Well, actually its the same people that ran in 2008, but that proves my point.  With all of these clowns running, when was the last time you heard anything different from them?  More importantly, when you heard something different, when was the last time anything changed?  Do we really believe that going out and punching a button next to a D or an R will make a difference?  Judge Andrew Napalitano spells this out better than I ever could.  I heard the audio the other day, but I had to link to the video instead.  Personally I find the video distracting, but his speech is spot on.  Whether you agree with him or not, its worth the 5:00 to listen.

So why did I just say I don’t care about politics, and then talk about it?  Because it was the easiest way to illustrate a point.  We as a people, are told to isolate ourselves more and more away from “the others”.  We are trapped into believing that there are only ever two sides to each issue.  Do we tax the rich, or do we throw old people into the landfill?  Do we bomb Syria, or will Hezzbollah run rampant down the streets of New York?  Do we drill oil directly through a caribou skull, or do we ban all cars and plastic entirely?  Do we ban recreational drugs, or will our youth all curl up in a ball in the basement listening to Pink Floyd?  We are trapped in the great lie of dichotomy (a little over an hour, good to listen to on a commute).

Those examples are all extreme, and you can see right through them.  How many in your life can’t you see through?  I myself was one of the biggest culprits of this.  I believe God gives us the ability to see right from wrong, and to me those two extremes shall never meet.  My moral compass is black and white.  What I have learned though, is that people are not.  I thank God for bringing me to Tucson.  It was here that I learned that although a persons actions can be judged, the people themselves are more fluid.

Here in Tucson I learned that hippies have some awesome ideas about food.  Local and natural really is better.  I learned that not all Muslims want to blow up schools full of children.  I am in fact good friends with one.  I learned that not all potheads are lazy.  One in fact started his own company and works harder than I do.  I learned that Republicans can be just as bad at running a government as democrats.  I was forced to expose myself to new types of people, and that changed my perspective on myself and everyone else.

Reach out to others that you would normally shun.  Worst case scenario, you have a fruitless conversation.  I believe deep down, despite whats on the surface, we are all Libertarians.  I will prove that later this week.  Instead of focusing on the 10% where we disagree.  Focus on the 90% we have in common.  There is a very thin thread between a commune hippy and a survivalist.  Maybe instead of hating each other, we can share rain water harvesting techniques.  If you just spend time in your little box, the walls will start to close in on you.  When we demonize each other, the only ones who win is government.  Just ask the Untermenschen in the corner.

