You would never assume that running around on domestic errands yesterday would be fun, but it was.  It was good to have Jenn back in the house, and the house certainly needed some refilling.  Now I have food again, beyond the next 48 hours anyway.  My birds and my herd of yard rabbits also now have food.  I got a mirror hung up in our bedroom that has needed to go up for a long time.  It was good to get up off of my butt and be useful.  I also discovered two hidden values in the last day.

The first hidden value is my butcher shop.  Now, you might ask how the hell that could possibly be hidden since all I have done for the last three weeks is talk about how much I loved it.  Well, I do, but they have better product than even they realize.  When I first started going, I asked if they carried pastured chicken and pork.  I had seen grassfed beef in the freezer, but none of the other. I was informed that they didn’t.  That struck me as a little odd, especially given the quality of everything they had.   Either way, I still loved it and I moved on.

I had been purchasing lots of beef and pork, and I had noticed how much pinker the pork is there than in the store.  Last night was the tipping point.  Jenn and I bought a chicken.  Which she cooked beautifully.  In addition, it turned out to be a pastured chicken, and we didn’t even know.  It was a bit smaller than a regular fryer, which was a sign.  It also had a completely different texture and flavor, and it was amazing.  It had an extra think layer of fat under the skin, and the white meat wasn’t a lot lighter than the dark.  It was truly amazing.  You owe it to yourself to go try one.  The best part is, I found a supplier of pastured food, and they don’t even know they could be charging a hell of a lot more for it.

The second hidden value I found, is the value of sitting down to dinner with family.  In the nine years that I have been married, I think Jenn and I have used our kitchen table together about 10 times.  At least without other people in the house its that rare.  Well Jenn and I have decided to start eating at the table together now, and its awesome.  It really does give you a chance to forge a better connection.  I can only imagine how something like this affects us on a cultural scale.  We all need that time that we can be together and talk.  If we are filling that void with TV, instead of sharing a communal meal, what all are we missing out on?  I am enjoying it, and I think its something that should be more common.

Breakfast:

Coffee with cream and cane sugar

Lunch:

1 Pork chop

Cottage cheese

Salad

I wasn’t really hungry at lunch time, but I figured it would be good to eat.  Some leftovers hit the spot.

Dinner:

1/2 Chicken

Salad

Yogurt w/ preserves

The chicken was epic.  Cut the chicken in half.  Pan fry in coconut oil until golden brown.  Season with garlic, rosemary, salt, pepper.  Put in the oven for about 35 minutes.  It will be awesome, crispy and juicy.  It was great.

Weight: 235.

