Although it is critically important for me to practice my new diet, some days it just feels like I am doing work.  I am often wanting to do more with the tribal lifestyle than I get a chance to do.  I want to truly exemplify this life that I have been led to.  So today, I planted a tree for the first time in my life.  Not only that, I had a great time doing it.

Today, Jenn and I were out and about, and we happened to wander into Lowes to check out their raised bed kits.  I didn’t see any there that I wanted, but I sure did see some cool looking orange trees.  Since we have some plans in place to get our chickens, I figured we could take care of some of our vitamin needs.  Once again, God’s guidance was on us, and we didn’t even realize it at the time.  I did know that this would also give me a chance to practice Hugelkulture in my yard for the first time.  More on that in a moment.

 

This is a mature Trovita orange tree.  They get about ten feet tall, and about 20 feet wide when fully mature.  So I will have something like this in my backyard if I live here for awhile.  Even if I don’t, I am totally going to plant an orchard on our ranch.  I find that I like it.  Nothing beats an orange grown yourself.

So why do I think this tree was God’s guidance.  Because it is the best type of tree for Arizona.  In fact, the Trovita is also known as the “Arizona Sweet Orange” .  Its fine with the heat, it hates the cold, and it only needs watered about once a week or so.  We didn’t know any of this at the store.  We didn’t do any research on this first, we simply walked in on a whim, and opened ourselves to God’s plan.  There were several flats of both valencia and navel oranges.  We chose neither of those, and chose one of three Trovita oranges in the entire garden section.  Absolutely by chance, we found the best tree.  Now I have this little guy in my yard.

As I mentioned, it also gave me a chance to start practicing Hugelkulture.  Sepp Holzer and Paul Wheaton are doing most of the work with Hugelkulture that I have been exposed to, and I linked to Paul’s Site for anyone who is more interested.  Hugelkulture is basically what nature does in a forest instead of irrigation.  Nature doesn’t irrigate, people do.  So rather than fighting nature, why wouldn’t we copy her methods?  Essentially, you bury a ton of wood in the ground, and you soak it with water to get it started, then cover it with good compost type soil.  Ideally you do this a year before you plant anything, but I wasn’t that smart.  The wood absorbs the water and holds it.  So it is always slowly releasing it into the ground for the plants.  Eventually the wood breaks down, and becomes rich nitrogen soil.  This keeps your plant growing in a moist, rich, non-compacted soil at all times.  These are the things we have to do to wean ourselves off of petroleum based fertilizers.  Remember how God did it first.  Here is my little hugel bed mid production.  I am sprinkling gypsum in, because I figured it couldn’t hurt.

I will be working more in the yard tomorrow, lets see what trouble I get into there.

Breakfast:

2 cups coffee with cream and cane sugar

Lunch:

1 small burger

grilled onions

Parmesan Broccoli

Small salad

I made burgers for Jenn and I, while she took care of the hard part with side dishes.  I discovered that in addition to being allergic to chili in pepper form, I am also allergic to chili powder.  I have no idea how it took me so long to learn that, but I did.  Jenn steam some broccoli with the stems still on, it was awesome.  I think I like it better than the florets.

Dinner:

Chocolate

Smoothies

Since we ate “lunch” at like 4.  Dinner was more like desert, but thats OK.  Jenn made some more smoothies with coconut milk, sunflower milk and bananas.  They were pretty darn good.  Tasted very yummy, but also healthy.  The chocolate was awesome, I haven’t had any real desert food in awhile.

Weight: 234

 

