Well, as you may have guessed from the title, I am finally home from my trip.  I have to say, there really is no place like home.  The entire time I was away, I couldn’t wait to get back.  I missed my beautiful wife.  I missed my obnoxious puppies.  I missed my cute little chickens.  I missed my yard.  Lastly, I missed my mattress.  Its so bad, I have actually concluded that I am allergic to the outside world.  Not to go into any kind of details, but something in my hotel room was causing my skin to break out everywhere.  It was absolutely terrible.

Travel actually ended up working out pretty well compared to some past trips of mine.  Flying through Phoenix was a much better way for me to go.  Also, I flew on an Airbus aircraft instead of the traditional Boeing.  Some advice there great American aircraft company, if you want to keep functioning, build your aircraft bigger.  I wouldn’t say I had a ton of space, but I certainly had more room on that plane than I have on any others in a long time.

I look forward to being able to restart my paleo lifestyle now that I am at home.  As I mentioned yesterday, it was exceedingly hard to stick to a paleo diet in a buffet setting.  There were really very few things I could eat that weren’t based entirely or partly on carbs.  It was like watching the American diet in microcosm.  Everything was bread and carbs.  Sure there was some meat, but even it found a way to be coated in carbs either as breading or as a glaze.  There was no escaping it.  Grab your bread, your breaded meat, and your potatoes.  Here is some veggies, but they are clearly optional.  Oh and for dessert, carbs and sugar.  It was terrible.

I did my absolute best to avoid disaster, and in the week I was gone, I gained 5 pounds.  Thats a pound a day.  I can already feel it all starting to detox out of my system.  I am tired, sore, and just in general don’t feel like my new paleo self.  Its such a stretch to remember that I used to feel like this all the time.  I am such a happier person now, its amazing how much of that depends on food.  We truly are what we eat.  No wonder we often feel like garbage.

 

