Funny story.  About a month ago, when my wife was back in Pittsburgh, I was awakened by the sound of a rooster crowing REALLY close to my bedroom.  This was understandably confusing, since we slaughtered both of our rooster for causing that exact same problem.  So I stumble out to the back yard, and see all of my girls eager to get out of the coop.  I also see this little bugger.

chickensurvivalist

Hopping back and forth between my main yard and the side yard, just crowing his fool head off.  He isn’t mine, so I figure he escaped from the neighbours.  I throw a rock at him and tell him to shut up, and go back to bed.

Why do I bring this up?

Because this morning, while writing my other post, I STILL here this jerk crowing outside in the cactus.  REALLY??!  I built a fort for my goats, who then got attacked by two dogs who jumped three fences to get to them.  This stupid chicken has been playing hopscotch through dog, coyote, hawk, snake, and angry gun wielding neighbour territory for more than a month.  What a joke.

So the practical lesson here is yes, they dangers of predation on your chickens is real, and you should protect them.  However, fencing can get expensive, so all you have to do is buy the Survival Chicken (TM).  I am naming the stupid thing Daffy.

