Well, its official.  The gateway homestead is up for sale.  We submitted the workout packet and all of our paperwork to our real estate agent in the middle of Chicken Week, and yesterday they came to install the sign.

Henryforsale

Although we have had this process underway for more than four months now, this is most certainly the endgame of the Tucson phase of our lives.  To me at least, there is an incredible sense of finality  that comes with seeing it installed.  I have the same wonderful mix of excitement, anticipation and nervousness I had when we moved to Tucson.  There will also be the whirlwind packing and house-hunting frenzy, but I will probably just be too tired to care during all of that.  So all in all, its off to a great start.  I am very excited.

Now you all knew I was moving already, so that’s not where I am going with this yet, although I do look forward to sharing all of the adventure as well.

Instead it got me thinking about our last move from Pittsburgh to Tucson.  On both ends of the move, people would ask us as polite conversation “Oh wow, that’s such a long way, why are you moving?”  Our answer was almost always the same, “We hated where we lived so we wanted to change it”.  Most importantly, we meant it.  That was actually why we moved, why would it need to be any more complicated than that?

This was so consistently met with blank looks and outright disbelief.  I could never understand it at the time, and frankly I still can’t.  We have started to get much the same reaction this time here in Tucson, and I wonder if we will see the same reaction on the other end in Idaho.  All my life I have been surrounded by people who don’t particularly like their life circumstances, their job or where they live, yet they seem paralysed and unable to change it.  For me the solution has always been so easy, why is it difficult for so many others?  It feels like two frogs sitting together in a pot that’s on the stove.  One comments that its getting hot, and the other just says “Why jump out, the other pots are going to boil too?”

Why are we all so willing to accept mediocrity in the places that we live?  Taxes are too high.  Gun laws are too strict.  There are no jobs.  It never rains.  It always rains.  I can’t have backyard chickens.  My neighbours play music at 2am.

Its a big, awesome, varied country out there.  If you don’t like where you are, for a couple hundred bucks you can be thousands of miles away in a few hours.  There will be somewhere else with the things you want, if you are only willing to go out and find them.  You might get it wrong at first.  We thought Tucson was going to be our forever home, and instead we lived here five years.  If Idaho isn’t our forever home, there are still 47 more states to check out.

The barriers you place to moving are all in your own mind.  I have a job. Get another one.  I have kids. They will think its an adventure if you tell them it is.  My kids will miss their friends.  For about 10 minutes, trust me, after your kids graduate they aren’t going to talk to them anyway.  I have a mortgage.  Sell it.  I have family here.  There is an airport somewhere nearby.

Life is can either be a grand adventure, or a mind numbing slog.  You are much more likely to find adventure, if you are willing to go look for it.  Both the strongest barriers to our own success, and the easiest to break, are the ones we place on ourselves.  So go find an adventure.

