I think its time we had a serious discussion of potential etiquette and situational awareness here at The Tribal Future.  After all, we do such a good job with the raising and care of chickens, it seems almost inevitable that it will come up more and more in the future.  We can’t simply create these chicken oases and not expect this issue to come up.  What issue is this might I ask?  Is it a question of nutrition and health?   A question of being too noisy in a suburban area?  A question of rooster health?  Nope, its what the heck do you do when random wild chickens just decide they want to live with your girls?

Ellsie4blog

What do you see in this picture that doesn’t belong?

Ellsie2blog

How about here, photobombing at the top?

Ellsie1blog

Or here?

See that little white chicken?  That isn’t ours.  Or I should say, that WASN’T ours.  At least not originally.  If you remember a few weeks ago when I did the post on The Chicken Survivalist.  I was talking about a rooster that was in our yard.  Well he never really stuck around, but I think this one escaped at the same time, and she did stick around.

This chicken has absolutely been priceless, and our chickens reaction to her has been even better.  My yard is divided into three main sections.  My chickens live in the backyard, that’s completely surrounded by chain-link fencing.  I also have a side yard which is more open, and was where I had my garden and my raised beds.  There are also some cactus and palo verde trees over there.  It turns out this little chicken has been living and roosting up in one of those trees for about a month.

Initially she was very scared of us, and would always run away when we came out into the yard. I thought that she was running back towards whatever coop she had come from initially, but no, she must have been roosting in the trees.  We would see her messing around in the garden looking for food, and of course Jenn felt bad for her, so Jenn provided a water dish too.  She would come up to the fence and look in at our girls, and she would be so jealous of their food and their water.  Our chickens would see her over there, and just go on about their thing.  This has gone on for awhile, but in the last few days it got more hilarious.

See there is no food in the desert in winter.  Period.  The bugs are dead, the plants are gone, and the soil is sandy crap.  So she was clearly starving.  So two day ago I went out to feed our girls breakfast.  I let them out and put the food down in their spot, and go back to the house.  I hear some running and some flapping.  I turn around and this little chicken has jumped and heaved herself up over the fence, and made a bee line for the food.  And then she stayed.  All day.

That was two days ago.  Everyday she flaps up over the fence.  Hangs out at chicken day camp with out girls, and goes home to her tree at exactly five thirty at night.  She is absolutely adorable with our girls.  There is no fighting, they all just hang out together.  The Favorolles especially are best friends with this thing.  I actually saw them preening each other yesterday morning.  She is blending nicely into our group.  I am only waiting for her to follow our girls into the coop at night, and I will clip her wings.

We kept calling her Little Chicken, so my wife named her Elsie (L. C) to give her a more dignified name. I would have to say we must be doing something right, if random stray chickens in the neighbourhood are showing up at your door.

