Good Morning everyone,

I have to say that I am in an amazing mood this morning, so hopefully I can pass along some of that energy to all of you out there in Tribal Land.  I was awakened early this morning (4:30am) to the delightful sound of rain drumming on my roof.  I wasn’t really able to go back to sleep, but I feel oddly energized from the sound.  I actually woke up before my alarm, which is good.  I am less likely to disturb the wife that way when I blunder around in the dark.  Most importantly, I released my first book to my Tribal Community yesterday, and I am beyond stoked about it.

Since most readers of this blog come from my Facebook site, you have probably already seen my book announcement.  If you haven’t, I have officially launched my first book “What the Cluck!?  An alternative view on raising chickens.”

Bookcoverfinal

That’s my beautiful little Salmon Favorolle chicken Evian offering her services as a cover model, one of my Welsummer chickens photo bombing on the left, and an Orpington mooning the camera in the back.  It’s available free until Monday on Amazon.com, it will also be featured permanently in the column on the right of my blog if you want to share with friends.

Fear not though, this was not an entire blog about my book.  Plenty of time for those later when the free promo period is over.  This is actually more about how people find time to get things done that they really want to.

I have been blogging daily now for 26 days.  26 days ago the Tribal Future was nothing at all except a rough idea in my mind, and some old dusty posts from the Summer.  In 26 days I have written at least one post a day, often times 2.  Our community has grown into more than 300 people on Facebook.  Most importantly, my wife and I wrote a book.  All of this while still working full time and relaxing in the evenings with Jenn most nights.

So if I, one of the laziest people you know, was able to pull this off, why can’t everyone?

The truth is that everyone can, but not everyone does.  It takes sacrifice, focus and dedication in order to set the time aside to get these things done.  I used to get up at 7 every morning to get ready for work, when I started blogging, I got up at 6.  That gives me an extra hour in the morning to dedicate to my craft, that doesn’t take time away from work or my wife.  I got to bed at 11 every night, so I am not even really short changing my sleep.

As I explore the homesteading world, I find so many things that I would love to be able to do.  I want to grow my own food. Raise my own animals.  Build things more.  I find joy in doing the things for myself that most other people relegate to the dust bin, and that makes me proud.

Now this last one might be me, but when I explain how much my wife and I do things for ourselves, the excuse I hear from people most often is “I don’t have time”.  I say that we cook every night at home, they don’t have time.  I live an hour from work, that takes so long.  I built a headboard, how long did that take?  We are an entire nation of stressed out individuals whose biggest complaint is that we don’t have time for the things we love to do.  I would read a book if I had the time.  I would learn Spanish if I had the time.  I would write a book if I had the time.

So time is valuable to us all, and we never have enough of it.  I wish I could find the study again, but I actually read how people are more willing to give you their money than their time.

So what the hell are we doing with the 10080 minutes we are ALL given in the week?  Why do some people get so much more done than others?

Well, the other day I read that the average American watches 35 hours of TV in a week.  That is an entire day and a half dedicated to just sitting on their butt intaking alpha waves directly into their brain.  And that’s the average.  That means some people are more.  Can you imagine a worse way to spend your time?

Now I don’t own cable, and haven’t in years.  I don’t miss it, but I am not going to lie and say I don’t watch TV.  I do.  By my math I clock in at between 20 and 25 hours a week, which in my book is still terrible.  It kinda makes me wish I had more will power to turn off my Xbox.  Maybe that’s something I will work on this year.  Still though.  How many better uses of our country’s time are there than watching TV?

We are already a nation that can’t build anything.  Our kids are a generation that doesn’t know anything.  They can’t even talk to each other without texting.  We run around all day, watching the minutes slip by and claiming we never have enough of them.  Maybe we should all just turn off the TV and remember where all of our time went.  There are so many more worthwhile ways to spend your day.

